About Me

I’m a professional pole vaulter from Watkinsville, Georgia who attended the University of Kansas from 2006 through 2011. I still train in Lawrence, KS and started working with Tim Mack (Knoxville, TN) in 2014. I finished graduate school for Sport Management in the spring of 2013 and can honestly say, it was the best educational decision I’ve ever made. While I was going to grad school, I worked as a Grad Assistant in the I.T. Department of KU Athletics. The timing worked out perfectly where my boss was able to hire on another full-time staff member and luckily for me, I was notified that I got the job while I was on my honeymoon in September of 2013! Unfortunately, it is very difficult to juggle a full-time job and training to be an Olympian, so I stepped down from my position in February, 2015 in order to pursue my dream of making an Olympic Team. My wife has been an unbelievable supporter of my journey and I wouldn’t be anywhere near where I am today without her. In order to try and offset training/traveling expenses since quitting my job, I started a web design business – Dash Websites where I can work from anywhere with internet access while I travel the globe competing.

In July, 2016, I started working with an old KU teammate for the business he helped start a couple years ago – Breakout Global! It’s an escape game business with 4 locations around the U.S. and growing rapidly. I was very excited to learn that I would be a graphic designer, web designer, AND be on the build team! I’m writing this 6 months after coming on board, and I can’t fully express how happy I’ve been since working with Breakout. I’m challenged on both a mental and physical level, with the ability to design marketing material, props, signage, etc. And the building…. ohhh the building! I’ve always loved woodworking (if you’ve been following me for a while, you very well know that) and the opportunity to build trap doors, custom furniture, and interactive puzzles has been a dream-come-true. I’ve been truly blessed in my life thus far and can’t wait to see what else the world has to offer. I’m currently taking this season (2017) completely off from pole vaulting and will re-evaluate my level of passion next year as to whether or not I pick vaulting back up, or hold off for yet another year. I strongly believe I’m not done yet, just not sure how long I want to stretch out this break!

A few cool accolades I have are as follows: I’ve been on 4 USA Teams since 2005,  made it to the final round of the U.S.A. Olympic Trials in 2008 and 2012, won the Indoor USA Championships in 2013, the NCAA Outdoor Championships in 2010, and seven Big XII Championships during my career as a Jayhawk.

Another interesting fact about me is what I do with my hair. Halfway through my 2010 track season with KU I started dying my hair a different design with different colors for each competition. It all started when I had a rough indoor season that year; I was really struggling at competitions while practices were going great. I had a long heart-to-heart talk with my coach after a horrible showing at the indoor NCAA Championships and we realized that I wasn’t having fun like I used to! I turned vaulting into more of a job than a sport that I loved all through high school and the first years of college. We decided to adjust my priorities for that outdoor season and move “having fun” to the top of the list. I tried to think of something that I could do to have more FUN and not worry about the outcome. I decided at the last minute to dye my hair. Everyone was more than shocked when this guy shows up to the meet with red and white-checkered hair, ha. I jumped the highest I’ve ever vaulted on that day and felt like I had to keep it up and dye it again! Almost every meet since that day I’ve dyed my hair. And it’s funny how much it helped my popularity in the sport! I started to build a real fan base and meet people who definitely would remember “the guy with the hair.” That was a turning point in my career and I love being able to get the crowd into it, whether it comes from my vaulting or my hair. I have “pole vaulting goals” to make the next World Championship Team and every team after that, including the next Olympic Team. I also believe that goals can be more idealistic than materialistic. My “idealistic goals” are as follows: I want to be the best vaulter I can physically and mentally become – I want to max out my athletic potential 100% by the end of my career. If that means I never win an Olympic Games or World Championships, that’s fine by me. But I know that if I vault as well as my body will allow, I will win those meets and I will be the best vaulter the world has ever seen. I would love to have you as one of my supporters, and I know good and well that I cannot fulfill my dreams on my own, so please follow me on my journey to become the greatest athlete I can possibly be!


Parents: Richard and Lynne Scott

Sister: Mallory Scott

Wife: Julia Scott

Date of Birth: February 22, 1988

College: University of Kansas

Coach: Tim Mack

Agent: Jeff Hartwig

Outdoor Personal Best: 5.72m (18′ 9.25″)

Indoor Personal Best: 5.60m (18′ 4.5″)

High School PR Progression:

-Freshman: 10’6″
-Sophomore: 15′ 2″
-Junior: 17′ 1.5″
-Senior: 17′ 0.75″

College PR Progression:

-Freshman: 5.55m (18′ 2.5″)
-Sophomore: 5.60m (18′ 4.5″)
-Junior: 5.55m (18′ 2.5″)
-Senior: 5.71m (18′ 8.75″)
-5th Year: 5.70m (18′ 8.25″)

Professional PR Progression:

-2012: 5.72m (18′ 9.25″)
-2013: 5.61m (18′ 4.75″)
-2014: 5.50m (18′ 0.5″)
-2015: 5.60m (18′ 4.5″)


My favorite song is “Chicken Fried” by the Zac Brown Band.
My favorite article of clothing is socks.
My favorite vaulter is Derek Miles.
My favorite color depends on the application…

-On a car = burnt orange
-Clothing = light blue
-Hair dye = Manic Panic Blue Moon
-Lots of other things = red